Author: Clea Simon

Clea Simon worked as a journalist and non-fiction author before turning to crime (fiction). Best known for her series of cozy mysteries starring cat-lover Theda Krakow, Clea Simon grew up in New York, before moving to Cambridge, Massachusetts to attend Harvard. She fell in love with the city and lives there still with her husband and their cat, Musetta.

Grey Dawn

Grey Dawn

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
When grad student Dulcie Schwartz thinks she hears a wolf late one night, on her way to pick up some forgotten papers from her departmental office, she tries to dismiss it – but it’s too late for her peace of mind. The noises, the dark building and an unnerving sighting of her adviser – looking strangely unhuman in the moonlight – all combine to thoroughly give her the creeps. But it is not until the next morning that Dulcie learns the disquieting truth: she was right to be spooked. A woman worryingly close to the university was savagely attacked, that very night. A woman who looks like Dulcie. Aided by the cryptic advice from her kitten Esmé and the ghost of her late, great cat Mr Grey, Dulcie can’t stop herself from investigating. More info →
True Grey

True Grey

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
When Dulcie Schwartz stumbles across the body of Melinda Sloane Harquist, a visiting scholar whose upcoming book threatens to ruin Dulcie’s thesis and who she threatened to kill, in jest, just days before, it’s creepily reminiscent of the nightmares that have been waking her for the past week. And with boyfriend Chris distant and preoccupied, and both the ghost cat Mr Grey and her kitten Esmé strangely cryptic in their advice, it’s up to Dulcie to prove herself innocent, before it’s too late . . . More info →
Grey Expectations

Grey Expectations

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
The new Dulcie Schwartz feline mystery: Could a missing book be haunted? Dulcie Schwartz doesn’t want to think so, but ever since it disappeared from the university, things have gone from bad to worse – one of her colleagues accused of homicide, and another revealed as an impostor. To top it all off, both the ghost cat Mr Grey and the kitten Esmé seem to have switched their allegiance to her boyfriend. Deprived of feline assistance, Dulcie must uncover the truth by herself, or else find herself on the hook for the theft – and murder. More info →
Grey Zone

Grey Zone

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
The appealingly earnest Dulcie reveals a sweetly eccentric side through her psychic communications with Mr. Grey, her ghost cat sidekick, and her new telepathic kitten, Esmé. Strange dreams and Mr. Grey's sporadic assistance steer Dulcie toward a most elusive killer. Fans of Shirley Rousseau Murphy, Carole Nelson Douglas, and Rita Mae Brown should enjoy this feline whodunit, the best in the series so far. — Publishers Weekly More info →
As Dark As My Fur
Grey Matters

Grey Matters

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
- Caught between a distracted supervisor and university politics, Dulcie’s doctoral thesis looks doomed. When she stumbles across the bloodied body of a fellow student, things couldn’t get any worse. Unless her mother’s dreams turn out to be premonitions and Dulcie’s work has all been in vain . . . With the ghost of Mr Grey – her wise and loyal late, great cat – strangely silent, and her new kitten refusing to speak, this time Dulcie might just be on her own. More info →
Into The Grey

Into The Grey

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery

“I could kill Roland Fenderby”. Dulcie Schwartz has reason to regret those words when she discovers Professor Fenderby’s battered body in his office – and finds herself the prime suspect in the ensuing murder investigation. Although she had good reason to dislike the late professor, who had been calling her scholarship into question, Dulcie would never go so far as to murder him. But someone seems to be deliberately putting her in the frame for his death. Who – and why?

Her academic career in jeopardy, Dulcie must find out the truth – and fast. But when she turns to Mr Grey for advice, he seems strangely silent. Could the spirit of her wise grey cat really be fading from her life for good?

Simon’s well-plotted 10th academic paranormal cat cozy … Series fans will enjoy the latest developments in Dulcie’s saga.Publishers Weekly

More info →
Shades of Grey

Shades of Grey

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
That's just one of the questions plaguing Dulcie Schwartz. A grad student at Harvard, Dulcie lives for research. Her discipline — the Gothic English novel of the late 18th Century — may seem minor to some. But for Dulcie, it's reason to dive into the library, into the ordered, reasoned world of books. At least, until her roommate is murdered, her mother starts calling with some strange psychic dreams. And the ghost of her late, great cat Mr. Grey appears to help her through it all ... or over the edge. More info →
When Bunnies Go Bad

When Bunnies Go Bad

Author:
Series: Pru Marlowe
Genre: Pet Noir Mystery

Winter is hard in Beauville, where the melting snow can reveal much more than last season’s dead leaves. So when a wealthy, obnoxious tourist and his ski bunny girlfriend surface in Pru Marlowe’s little Berkshire town, she knows she should stay out of their way. The bad-girl animal psychic has to focus on more immediate concerns, including a wild rabbit named Henry, supposedly tamed and illegally living with an eighty-four-year-old lady in her home. Henry, who seems to be acting out and hiding, avoids responding to Pru. Yet when Pru discovers the tourist murdered and his girlfriend’s high-maintenance spaniel falls to her care, she gets dragged into a complicated case of crime and punishment that involves some new friends, an old nemesis, and her own shadowed past. A recent museum art heist draws the feds into the investigation along with a courtly gentleman radiating menace, who represents secretive business interests in New York and shows a surprising awareness of Pru. Her on-again, off-again romance with police Detective Creighton doesn’t stop him from warning her to steer clear of the inquiry. The spaniel, however, lures her in. Pru lives in a world where only her crotchety tabby Wallis knows the whole truth about her past, her flight from Manhattan, and her unique gift that surfaced abruptly one day. Fearing the worst, Pru now comes dangerously close to being exposed. With everything in motion, Pru, Wallis, and everyone they hold dear will be lucky to escape…by a hare.

As Booklist says, The plot is nearly as challenging to follow as the critters, but once again Simon’s wacky humor—darkish but surely not black—provides more than enough entertainment.

More info →
Probable Claws
The Ninth Life
Cries and Whiskers

Cries and Whiskers

Author:
Series: Theda Krakow
Genre: Mystery
When an animal rights activist is killed by a hit-and-run driver on an icy Cambridge street, music critic Theda Krakow can’t get too upset. The victim cared more for wild animals than for people, and had no use at all for domesticated pets, such as the black-and-white cat Musetta that Theda adores. Besides, Theda is caught up in investigating the rise of a dangerous new designer drug that threatens the musicians and fans who make up the club scene she considers her second home. But when the feline-friendly writer learns that the accident victim was defying her own radical group to rescue feral cats on the eve of a ferocious winter storm, she puts her own prejudices aside to help out. As Theda and her buddy, the punk-rock shelter owner Violet, race to save these half-wild felines from the freezing New England winter, they uncover simmering tensions that make the activist’s death seem more than an accident. Could a friend have been the fatal driver? Is Violet more involved with the extremist group than she’s let on? Even while kittens are at risk and the new drug hits close to home, Theda tries to hang onto her journalistic objectivity. But when the threats become more personal and Musetta goes missing, Theda risks her reputation, her career, and possibly her life as the word “deadline” takes on a whole new meaning. More info →