Hold Me Down

“This devastatingly powerful mystery hits you like a punch to the heart.”
Caroline Leavitt, New York Times-bestselling author

“A darkly suspenseful dive into friendship, fame, murder, and the thrilling power of rock music. I couldn’t put it down.”
Meg Gardiner, author of the UNSUB series

A Cat on the Case

“Fans of feline cozies will be charmed.”
Publishers Weekly

“Yes, this is a feline-filled cozy, but it’s also an intricate work of speculative fiction.”
Kingdom Books

An Incantation of Cats

“Simon expertly casts suspicion on one member of her tiny human cast after another … for readers who want all cats, all the time.”
-Kirkus Reviews

World Enough

“With a colorful cast of characters, a gift for detail, and intricate plotting, Simon takes her readers deep into the esoteric world of the Boston music scene.”
Lisa Unger, New York Times-bestselling author

A Spell of Murder

“Delightful … You don’t have to be a cat lover to appreciate this paranormal cozy’s witty observations, entertaining dialogue, and astute characterizations.”
– Publishers Weekly

Cross My Path

“Epic in scope.”
-Bristol Public Library

“Not only reflects a thorough understanding of feline behavior, but also a connection to the feline essence.”
–The Conscious Cat

Fear on Four Paws

“Irresistible.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Series fans will lap it up.”
-Booklist

Welcome

I’m Clea Simon, author of the upcoming psychological suspense Hold Me Down; the rock ‘n’ roll noir World Enough; the Theda Krakow, Dulcie Schwartz, Pru Marlowe, Witch Cats of Cambridge, and Blackie & Care mysteries; and also a handful of nonfiction books. Please browse around and make yourself at home. I’d love to see you at one of my events, and I’m always happy to hear your feedback.

As featured in the Wall Street Journal and on NPR

Newest Books

Clea Simon writes with authority and affection about a lost world. Highly recommended.
Catriona McPherson

A twisty, bittersweet trip, with just the right mix of edge and nostalgia.
Joseph Finder

So vividly written and so rich and real, these characters’ collective loss of innocence feels shockingly personal
Caroline Leavitt

This is a haunting carpe noctem novel, and Simon seizes the night with a firm, relentless grip
Anthony DeCurtis

Recent Blog Posts

Library Journal gets Hold Me Down!

"VERDICT: A mystery that explores character motivations ... For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich." Thrilled that Library Journal got the essence of Hold Me Down – and what company to be in! – though, of course, I would argue that understanding the...

read more

“Wickedly smart” cats – thank you!

What a joy to stumble across this article in Crime Reads: "Six Cozy Mysteries Told From a Cat’s Purr-spective" There's a nice shout-out to my A Cat on the Case (the latest Witch Cats of Cambridge mystery) and the note that my cats are "wickedly smart." Why thank you!...

read more

They’re HERE!

The official publication date for HOLD ME DOWN has been bumped back two weeks – until Oct. 19 – because of the supply chain issues that are affecting everyone in the book business. But I have proof that the books have been printed because my author copies have...

read more
Subscribe to Clea's Occasional Newsletter

Subscribe to Clea's Occasional Newsletter

Join Clea's mailing list to receive the latest news and updates!

You have Successfully Subscribed!