Library Journal gets Hold Me Down!

"VERDICT: A mystery that explores character motivations ... For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich." Thrilled that Library Journal got the essence of Hold Me Down – and what company to be in! – though, of course, I would argue that understanding the...

read more

“Wickedly smart” cats – thank you!

What a joy to stumble across this article in Crime Reads: "Six Cozy Mysteries Told From a Cat’s Purr-spective" There's a nice shout-out to my A Cat on the Case (the latest Witch Cats of Cambridge mystery) and the note that my cats are "wickedly smart." Why thank you!...

read more

They’re HERE!

The official publication date for HOLD ME DOWN has been bumped back two weeks – until Oct. 19 – because of the supply chain issues that are affecting everyone in the book business. But I have proof that the books have been printed because my author copies have...

read more

October is going to be a blur anyway…

You've probably heard about the supply chain issues hitting publishing – well, hitting EVERYONE* – this year? I guess they've messed a little with Hold Me Down. The book is printed and it's on its way to the distributors and from there to bookstores near and far. But...

read more

Talking fame and fiction with MWA Florida

What is it about the bright lights that makes the shadows so dark? Why did I set yet another psychological suspense in a story of rock and roll stardom – and why am I encouraging all my fellow writers to do the same? These questions and more will be addressed this...

read more

Sun-Sentinal on HOLD ME DOWN

Rocker turns sleuth By OLINE H. COGDILLSUN SENTINEL CORRESPONDENT |SEP 07, 2021 AT 3:17 PM ‘Hold Me Down’ by Clea Simon. Polis Books, 288 pages, $26.99 Fame can be fleeting, gone in a blink before it can be appreciated. Gal Raver, the heroine of...

read more

“And yet… and yet…”

"There is inspiration in the idea of imperfect people helping each other find the way back on course." I'm not going to post every reader review (although I am grateful for everyone who took the time to respond). But this one made me choke up. Thank you, Mary, whoever...

read more

“Imperfect people…helping each other find the way back.”

This reader review on BookBub choked me up: "HOLD ME DOWN by Clea Simon is not my normal type of reading, grittier than my usual, and I don’t relate easily to the music scene, and yet . . . and yet . . . I came to care about Gal and her band, felt a bit dizzy at the...

read more

“Evocative… for readers who enjoy dark stories”

"Simon’s evocative writing puts readers inside sweaty clubs," says librarian Henrietta Verma, reviewing HOLD ME DOWN for First Clue Reviews. "For readers who enjoy dark stories and fans of music-themed mysteries." (She names other high points, but does give a bit a of...

read more

‘Shattering Glass’ wins the Anthony!

Shattering Glass, the first anthology from the groundbreaking Nasty Woman Press, has won the Anthony! Although we couldn't gather in person to hear the wonderful news, the awesome Bouchercon team managed a really fun virtual awards ceremony last night (thanks to the...

read more