Psychological Suspense

The Blue Butterfly is coming March 4, 2025! A dark “he said/she said” that changes point of view at a critical point in the middle and ends in a tragedy that may have been inevitable from the start.

In Bad Boy Beat, when a rookie reporter is convinced a series of street crimes are connected, she is willing to go the extra mile to chase down the big story.

Hold Me Down, set in the rough and tumble world of rock and roll from the clubs to the arenas, is a both deeply personal and timely novel.

World Enough toggles between the punk rock scene of ’80s Boston and the slick modern city of twenty years later, exploring the mysteries of memory, nostalgia, and regret.

Witch Cats of Cambridge

The Witch Cats of Cambridge series is a sweet and magical cozy series featuring a young woman, Becca Colwin, who wants. to be a witch – and the three cats who really have the power. Kicking off with A Spell of Murder, the cozy mystery series continues with An Incantation of Cats and A Cat on the Case.

Blackie & Care

The Blackie & Care mystery series is the darkest of my cat mysteries. This chat noir series features Care, a homeless teen, and is narrated by Blackie, her feline companion, as the navigate a dystopian city.  Books in order, by Severn House U.S. pub dates, are The Ninth Life (2016), As Dark As My Fur (2017), and Cross My Path (2018).

Pru Marlowe

The Pru Marlowe pet noir series features a hard-living animal behaviorist who can hear what animals are thinking, most notably her snarky tabby Wallis. Books in order, by original Poisoned Pen Press publication date: Dogs Don’t Lie (2011), Cats Can’t Shoot (2012), Parrots Prove Deadly (2013), Panthers Play for Keeps (2014), Kittens Can Kill (2015), When Bunnies Go Bad (2016), and Fear on Four Paws (2018).

Dulcie Schwartz

The Dulcie Schwartz feline-filled mystery series features a graduate student doing her dissertation on the Gothic literature of the 1790s, with the help of the ghost of her late, great cat, Mr. Grey. Books in order, by original Severn House publication date: Shades of Grey (2009), Grey Matters (2010), Grey Zone (2011), Grey Expectations (2012), True Grey (2012), Grey Dawn (2013), Grey Howl (2014), Stages of Grey (2014), Code Grey (2015), and Into the Grey (2016).

Theda Krakow

The Theda Krakow mystery series features a freelance rock music critic and her cat. The books also address such animal issues as hoarding and puppy/kitten mills. Books in order, by original Poisoned Pen Press publication date: Mew is for Murder (2005), Cattery Row (2006), Cries and Whiskers (2007), and Probable Claws (2009). 


The nonfiction books run the gamut of mental health, family, and feline issues. These are Mad House: Growing Up in the Shadow of Mentally Ill Siblings (St. Martin’s Press, 1997), Fatherless Women: How We Change After We Lose Our Dads (Wiley, 2001), The Feline Mystique: On the Mysterious Connection Between Women and Cats (St. Martin’s, 2002).

I also have essays in the Cat Women: Female Writers on Their Feline Friends (Seal Press), For Keeps: Women Tell the Truth About Their Bodies, Growing Older, and Acceptance (Seal Press), and He Said What? (Seal Press) and short stories in various anthologies, including Deadfall: Crime Stories by New England Writers and Stone Cold: Best New England Crime Stories (Level Best Books) and Tales from the House Band volumes 1 and 2 (Plus One Press).