Reviews

Kings River Life feels the HOLD ME DOWN beat

"This novel really takes you into the grimy world of a traveling band and the melodies behind the music...." THANK YOU, Kings River Life! The magazine is also offering a giveaway. See below: "Hold Me Down" By Clea Simon: Review/Giveaway November 05, 2021 Review by...

read more

Boston Globe calls HMD a “propulsive thriller”

Today's Sunday Boston Globe book section hails HOLD ME DOWN as a "propulsive thriller," saying: "In electric prose, Simon conjures the rock-and-roll world, its drink, drugs, and band-dynamics, and the twin seductresses of excess and success, as she makes a penetrating...

read more

BOLO Books raves about HOLD ME DOWN

With HOLD ME DOWN, Simon "stakes her claim as crime fiction’s foremost purveyor of tales that blend mystery with music. ... this is a character that demands to be invested in. " I'm overjoyed to share this rave review from BOLO Books. There's so much here, I'm...

read more

Gumshoe Review loves “Incantation”!

"A fun addition to the series ... with some interesting twists that bode well for future books in the series." – Gumshoe Review Writing for mystery journal Gumshoe Review, Gayle Surrette gives an in-depth rave to AN INCANTATION OF CATS (Witch Cats of Cambridge #2)...

read more

“Simon’s best book to date…”

"As much character study as mystery ... this is Simon's best book to date." Thank you so much, Book Blog of the Bristol Public Library! Click here to read the original review. Bookblog of the Bristol Library Reviews by the Reference Department of the Bristol Public...

read more

“HOLD ME DOWN is terrific…”

Thanks to the ArtsFuse and David Daniel for this stellar in-depth review. Book Review: Rock and Roll Fantasy — Getting the Balance Right OCTOBER 11, 2021 LEAVE A COMMENT By David Daniel On many levels, Hold Me Down is terrific. Its power lies in the...

read more

“Raw and compelling suspense”

"...Simon's pacing in this crime thriller offers more than plot and character: She reincarnates the demanding sexuality of the rock underground with the costs of fame and addiction. Page by page, scene by traumatic scene, there's no guarantee that Gal can even...

read more

Library Journal gets Hold Me Down!

"VERDICT: A mystery that explores character motivations ... For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich." Thrilled that Library Journal got the essence of Hold Me Down – and what company to be in! – though, of course, I would argue that understanding the...

read more

“Wickedly smart” cats – thank you!

What a joy to stumble across this article in Crime Reads: "Six Cozy Mysteries Told From a Cat’s Purr-spective" There's a nice shout-out to my A Cat on the Case (the latest Witch Cats of Cambridge mystery) and the note that my cats are "wickedly smart." Why thank you!...

read more