Book Table

As Dark As My Fur
Grey Expectations

Grey Expectations

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
The new Dulcie Schwartz feline mystery: Could a missing book be haunted? Dulcie Schwartz doesn’t want to think so, but ever since it disappeared from the university, things have gone from bad to worse – one of her colleagues accused of homicide, and another revealed as an impostor. To top it all off, both the ghost cat Mr Grey and the kitten Esmé seem to have switched their allegiance to her boyfriend. Deprived of feline assistance, Dulcie must uncover the truth by herself, or else find herself on the hook for the theft – and murder. More info →
Grey Zone

Grey Zone

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
The appealingly earnest Dulcie reveals a sweetly eccentric side through her psychic communications with Mr. Grey, her ghost cat sidekick, and her new telepathic kitten, Esmé. Strange dreams and Mr. Grey's sporadic assistance steer Dulcie toward a most elusive killer. Fans of Shirley Rousseau Murphy, Carole Nelson Douglas, and Rita Mae Brown should enjoy this feline whodunit, the best in the series so far. — Publishers Weekly More info →
Grey Matters

Grey Matters

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
- Caught between a distracted supervisor and university politics, Dulcie’s doctoral thesis looks doomed. When she stumbles across the bloodied body of a fellow student, things couldn’t get any worse. Unless her mother’s dreams turn out to be premonitions and Dulcie’s work has all been in vain . . . With the ghost of Mr Grey – her wise and loyal late, great cat – strangely silent, and her new kitten refusing to speak, this time Dulcie might just be on her own. More info →
Shades of Grey

Shades of Grey

Author:
Series: Dulcie Schwartz
Genre: Mystery
That's just one of the questions plaguing Dulcie Schwartz. A grad student at Harvard, Dulcie lives for research. Her discipline — the Gothic English novel of the late 18th Century — may seem minor to some. But for Dulcie, it's reason to dive into the library, into the ordered, reasoned world of books. At least, until her roommate is murdered, her mother starts calling with some strange psychic dreams. And the ghost of her late, great cat Mr. Grey appears to help her through it all ... or over the edge. More info →
Probable Claws
Cries and Whiskers

Cries and Whiskers

Author:
Series: Theda Krakow
Genre: Mystery
When an animal rights activist is killed by a hit-and-run driver on an icy Cambridge street, music critic Theda Krakow can’t get too upset. The victim cared more for wild animals than for people, and had no use at all for domesticated pets, such as the black-and-white cat Musetta that Theda adores. Besides, Theda is caught up in investigating the rise of a dangerous new designer drug that threatens the musicians and fans who make up the club scene she considers her second home. But when the feline-friendly writer learns that the accident victim was defying her own radical group to rescue feral cats on the eve of a ferocious winter storm, she puts her own prejudices aside to help out. As Theda and her buddy, the punk-rock shelter owner Violet, race to save these half-wild felines from the freezing New England winter, they uncover simmering tensions that make the activist’s death seem more than an accident. Could a friend have been the fatal driver? Is Violet more involved with the extremist group than she’s let on? Even while kittens are at risk and the new drug hits close to home, Theda tries to hang onto her journalistic objectivity. But when the threats become more personal and Musetta goes missing, Theda risks her reputation, her career, and possibly her life as the word “deadline” takes on a whole new meaning. More info →
Cattery Row
Mew is for Murder
The Feline Mystique
Fatherless Women
Mad House

Mad House

Author:
Series: Nonfiction
Genre: Nonfiction
"An evocative, sensitive, and beautifully crafted memoir by a journalist whose older sister and brother each suffered from schizophrenia; the brother ultimately committed suicide. ... Simon does so many things well. She clearly explains the two major psychoses (schizophrenia and bipolar, or manic-depressive, disorder), as well as related psychological concepts. She also provides a short, useful reading list and succinctly explores some important economic factors influencing the care of the mentally ill. ... Absorbing and moving - must reading for siblings of the mentally ill, members of their immediate and extended families, their friends, and all who work with them." - Kirkus Reviews "A strong, fascinating work." - Boston Phoenix "A moving memoir ...The cycles of hope and despair are portrayed with the harrowing precision of Dante." - Boston Globe More info →